//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Sharkbait, hoo-ha-ha.

Hey there, it’s me, Jim. You know, the guy who sometimes feels the need to get online and smash away irritatingly at some keys in the hopes of entertaining a rather select group of individuals with musings and insights from his day-to-day life. The same guy, I’ve heard, who likes to attempt humorous intros to overdue blog posts, and the selfsame man who really doesn’t give a shit if anyone thinks that following the same pattern of writing feverishly like a corsair cutting through whitecaps then becoming waylaid by doldrums somewhere within the Intertropical Convergence Zone is getting old and redundant.

Furthermore, I know absolutely nothing about seafaring, and have no idea why I made a nautically-themed reference in my opening paragraph. If you have a problem with that, I’d like to refer you back to my intro, where you’ll find my position on the matter.

But I digress.

Let’s start with life. Life is good, pretty damn good. My time here in Springfield has, overall, yielded nothing but good things, and I’m looking forward to all that is to come in the next year. I’ll be leaving Springfield for the summer, and will be teaching weights at camp in New York. That’s going to be a great time. When I first signed on to teach weights up there, I began considering what I was going to do for my own training.

Last summer, my training went to shit in all aspects. I remember quite fondly finding myself nearly stapled to the bench after attempting a measly 225lbs, and squatting/deadlifting were all but out of the question. However, I convinced myself that this time around was going to be different. I’d be going into camp armed with the knowledge attained during my internship with MSU, and I’d have the experience of the previous summer’s failures to use. I figured I’d get some resistance bands in order to accommodate for lack of serious weight at camp, but now that I think about it, I a) don’t have the money to spend on bands, and b) probably won’t be needing them anyway. It’d be nice to have a couple for stretching and exercises like band pull-aparts, but aside from that, I can’t foresee any use for them.

Concerning training at camp, I’d like to implement a number (ok, a few) of strongman-type exercises in order to a) stay moving/be as athletic as is possible for me at the moment, and b) to keep things fresh for the kids. I’d like to get my hands on some tires, both large and small, for tire flips. I think these would be a great activity for the older kids, who, I’ve discovered, often have zero idea what they’re doing and drift along aimlessly unless otherwise directed. I think tire flips would be a great competition and a good team-building exercise. I’d also like to get a sled and harness to do sled-pulls. Again, I think this would be great for the older kids, and even for the middle-aged group. Sandbag loading and farmer’s walks would be great additions as well. The weight room at camp isn’t bad, but it’s not ideal in any manner, but, I have to remind myself that it’s geared toward the campers, both male and female, of all ages, and not for adult male counselors with an affinity for moving heavy things.

So, on that note, I’d like to continue my lifting while at camp, though in a more abbreviated manner, meaning that rather that strive for moving a maximal or circa-maximal weight, I’ll scale the weight back (perhaps significantly) and place a greater emphasis on simply maintaining my capacity to perform a certain movement pattern. (After camp last summer, I was extremely inflexible and barely capable of performing a squat with the bar, let alone any amount of weight.) I foresee a large amount of bodyweight exercises (push-ups, chins, sit-ups, etcetera), as these are most conducive to maintaining a semi-decent strength level given the circumstances of camp (diet, rest, activity level).

I’m aware of the changes that are going to take place over the summer, and, as much as I’d like to not have to deal with them, I’m all but convinced that there’s nothing I can do about it. But, as such, I might as well have a plan in place to do what I can with what I have.

My lifting as of now has been pretty inconsistent. As I stated in an earlier post, I (possibly) strained my inguinal ligament after deadlifting a few weeks ago, and since then, I’ve backed off from the heavy weights. But, due to rest, my groin is feeling fine, so I decided to get back under the bar today. At the moment, I’m so far off my 5/3/1 cycle that I figure it was just as well to shoot for a PR than do volume work. Everything, even the bar, felt heavy and awkward, but I persevered and managed a fairly decent 465×1 beltless squat. I’m considering this a PR, mainly because although I’ve squatted this weight before, I did so with a belt (I think I might have attempted it while in Tacoma, but was strapped up with wrist wraps, elbow sleeves, and a belt), so to move it sans equipment (even if it might have been a little high).

Here’s how it broke down real quick.

Squat: 135×5, 185×3, 225×3, 315×3, 405×1, 425×1, 445×1, 465×1.

I’ve definitely grown stronger during my time here. It’s like the goldfish-in-a-bowl principle. Keep a goldfish in a small bowl, and it will stay small. Put it in a big tank, and it’ll grow. MSU and the people here are my big tank, so to speak. Not to say that UPS or Tacoma or the people there were by any means a small bowl. Little fishies gotta start somewhere.

Ok folks, thanks for reading. I’ll probably write more tomorrow, but am done for tonight.

Stay yoked and loked.

About Jim

Jim is a semi-competitive powerlifter, strength and conditioning coach, and all-around nice guy. He loves flannel and IPA's.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Sharkbait, hoo-ha-ha.

  1. I know it might be anathema to you but a crossfiteasque program might be an interesting diversion for you, and great for the kids. Crossfit hass got built in competition and direction, plus you can do a lot of them without much equipment.

    Check out Crossfit Kids for more ideas in that vein.

    Posted by Paul Siegel | May 17, 2011, 7:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Tweets

